icon icon

Home / Blogs / Software Development Life-Cycle | SDLC


Software Development Life-Cycle | SDLC

SDLC is the acronym for Software Development Life-Cycle. To make any software ready to use, you have to go through some specific phases, and the process is called SDLC. It clearly defines the stages from identifying the need for software to deploying it. 


The main purpose of this process is to provide high-quality software in a cost-effective way. 

To build a product or software that exactly matches the expectation of customers, the final users; there are certain processes to be followed. The process of SDLC can specifically be classified into six stages or phases which are explained below: 


  1. Requirement analysis

It’s the initial yet the most important stage of SDLC. In this phase, the necessary data are collected from possible customers, shareholders and all the other concerned persons to bring out what the software is about, what is its importance, who are the targeted clients, how the target can be achieved and how the expectations can be met.  Here, every small detail is considerable, as it heavily impacts the outcome. 


As soon as the information is gathered, proper analysis or feasibility study is done considering all the relevant factors, and the possibility of successful creation of the software is assured. Finally an SRS (Software Requirement Specification) document is prepared which will act as reference for developers and designers in other phases.


  1. Planning

After compiling and analyzing all the data gathered from reliable resources and identifying the actual requirement, the next step is to begin planning for the further process. It’s one of the most important phases of SDLC. 


Considering the purpose of the software; cost, possible risks, outcome, and quality of the product is determined. It ensures that the software can be created in a smooth flow and functions properly at the end of the whole process. Moreover, you need to consider that the flaws, if they were present in the previous system, should not exist in this new system.


Proper planning provides you with a clearer picture of the scopes of the project and also the possible problems and opportunities that may come along.  


  1. Designing

Another essential phase of SDLC is designing. Now that you know what the software will be like and how it can be developed, it’s time to prepare an appropriate design or structure for the software. It is done with reference to the SRS document and the planning made. 


It’s important that you make the best design approach because it shows how the software will look and how it will work. It may include different aspects like user interface, programming, coding, security, architecture, communications, etc. Inappropriate or bad designing may result in high expenses or even failure of the project. Hence, necessary feedback is taken and implemented to finalize flawless design with standard look and function. 


  1. Developing

This is the phase of SDLC where the actual process of building software begins. Here, the developers start to build the required software by coding in required programming languages and tools. This is the longest process among all. This phase also includes static code analysis and code review for different types of devices. 


Some of the high-level programming languages that are used for the development of software are Python, C#, C, C++, JavaScript, Java, PHP, R etc.


  1. Testing (Code-Test)

Before you could jump on to releasing the software, you need to evaluate the software. It’s important to test whether the software is as good as it was expected to be or not. You have to test it well and check out all its functions so that it would be able to fascinate the customers at once. 

If there’s any error or defect in the product and if it still lacks some features, you need to work out and fix all those issues. The more you focus on testing the more efficient software you get. 


  1. Deployment

As you have readied the software and examined its function and quality, you are on the last phase of the Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) now. Yes, you are done with solving all the errors and now all that you have to do is release it officially and let the customers use your product. Or else you can go ahead with the UAT (User Acceptance Testing) process. In this phase, the developers along with the end-users (customers) test the quality and functions of the software to ensure that it addresses all the tasks that it was supposed to.